Blogmas Day 10: Importance of Friendship

friendship

“We have three types of friends in life: friends for a reason, friends for a season, and friends for a lifetime.”

If you haven’t guessed, today’s post is about friendship. I know, it barely ties in with the “Blogmas” theme, but after an incident that just occurred, I’ve decided to change it up a bit.

The way I see it, my friends are like family. If I let someone into my life, I plan on keeping them there for a while. However, based on this quote, this isn’t always the case. And, as much as I hate to admit it, I agree.

Friends for a Reason

Just as tonight’s incident proves, there are people that will come and go, and as pointless as a process as it may seem, they do create a lot of insight. My example? There was a girl who I became friends with at the beginning of the year. She caused a lot of drama, disliking me and then casting her hatred of me onto my friends just via association. Sound like a lot of drama yet? If only you knew the details. Long story short, there are horrible people out there, that we may even befriend for a bit. But that doesn’t mean it was a waste of time. There is always a lesson to learn, and hopefully you learn it in the easiest way possible.

Friends for a Season

In a way, these friendships are like the first one; they are short-lived. I feel like these, in fact, are more so acquaintances. In my opinion, acquaintances are kind of awkward. They’re at that in-between not-friends-but-not-strangers phase. How do I deal with these? Avoid them :’) Probably not the best advice, but I honestly have too many people to keep track of and devote my time to šŸ˜›

Friends for a Lifetime

I love the kind of friendship that you know will just last a lifetime. It’s probably the only reason I endure the other two. Beginning college I thought that I would continue to be the socially awkward girl that I’ve seemingly always been. Never did I expect to break out of that shell and meet the amazing people I now call, not even my friends, but my sisters šŸ™‚ I’m truly honored to have such people in my life and can never express just how grateful I am for everything they’ve done for me. It’s amazing to have such pure hearted people in my life, and I hope that everyone has the opportunity to meet people like them.

2 thoughts on “Blogmas Day 10: Importance of Friendship

  1. Pingback: Final Post – metaphysicalthought

Leave a Reply

