A Few of My Favourite Things

Image result for a few of my favourite things

As I was scrolling through my blog posts yesterday I’ve noticed it’s been a while since I updated my life (the last being March 11th!). My previous update was titled “What’s Beautiful to You Right Now”, and was inspired by a magazine to make a compilation of tings with simple beauty in them. Today’s post is a spin-off on that idea; I’m going to be giving you a few of my favourite things (cue Julie Andrews).


The Fault in Our Stars

I’m a bit behind the band-wagon when it comes to reading. In fact, I have a very strong hatred for it. That didn’t stop my sister from shoving the book in my face telling me to do something with my life (that may be a slight exaggeration). After complaining for a few minutes, I sat down and opened the infernal thing, and began reading what turned out to be a really good book. I’m not just saying that because it’s “cool”. To be honest, I hate the story because it’s such a tragedy, but it’s realistic, which is what makes it so good. Everyone has a story they hate so much that they love it (make sense?). I think this is mine.

Image result for vegetable oil soap

Vegetable Oil Soap

My whole life my brother has enjoyed telling me things that ruin my views. Example? I used to love eating fish sticks; it was “the only thing I would voluntarily eat”, according to my mum. However, my brother took this opportunity to ruin my happiness by telling me that I was eating actual fish; letting me believe I was eating my pet fish. It was traumatizing. Anyway, the point of this is, after finding out soap had animal fat in it, I didn’t even want to wash my hands (but I did). I soon learned there is a vegan substitute for soap using vegetable oil. It smells so good, feels so soft, and I know what’s in it.

Pasta Salad

It’s such a simple thing, but when my mum makes pasta salad, I know it’s Spring. We don’t really stick to a specific recipe, and continuously experiment with different veggie combinations. My current favourite includes the pasta (of course), Italian dressing, sweet red peppers, cucumbers, and broccoli. It tastes like summer; it was amazing. I completely recommend trying it; or substitute with things you like!

2 thoughts on “A Few of My Favourite Things

Leave a Reply

