Introducing Miranda

1418087889299 (1)

There are very few things in life that are shared worldwide; rebelling from the barriers of language. Music is one of them. Music has been around for centuries, and is continuously finding ways to evolve with society and customized to each generation. Nowadays, people are finding it easier and easier to get their name out in the world. Rather than seeking out a record deal, they turn to YouTube to share their talent. After a month or so of reaching out to various artists, and getting a lot more feedback than expected, I’m ready to introduce a mini-series of interviews conducted as a way for you guys to get to know more about them (and find more fave artists in the process).


Miranda Higgins

Miranda Kelcie Higgins is, like many of us, on the journey to achieving her goals. As a junior in high school, Miranda spends her days singing, writing songs, and playing guitar influenced by her life in New Hampshire. As impressive as this is, the talent doesn’t end there. As of July 2014, Miranda has been posting covers as well as her own music on YouTube for the world to see. I’ve recently had the opportunity to find out more about her and her love for music. Read to find out more!

Q: Tell us a bit about yourself.

A: My name is Miranda, I’ve been singing and writing songs for about a year now, and playing guitar for about 2. I’m a junior in high school and live in New Hampshire.

Q: How did you first become interested in singing?

A: I went to my first concert about 2 years ago and it was beautiful. The experience, seeing the band’s performance; I knew I wanted that feeling, too.

klmcd

Above is a picture of Miranda at a local talent show last year.

Q: So why start out on YouTube, instead of an alternative, like a show?

A: I actually auditioned for The Voice. But my mentor thought YouTube would be a good way to show people what I can do.

Q: Who is your inspiration?

A: Gerard Way (former lead singer of My Chemical Romance, also currently a solo artist). He’s always been the reason that music is so precious to me.

Q: What’s one song/ artist you’re really loving right now?

A: I’m really into the song “Someday” by The Strokes. As for an artist, I’m really into Flat Sound. His music is so raw and pure; I relate to it a lot.

Q: What are your greatest passions?

A: Learning to play new instruments (I’m currently learning piano, and have picked up the ukulele over the past few months), as well as playing music for people. One of the best feelings is when you hear someone singing your songs.

Q: First thing you look for in a song?

A: Definitely the lyrics. To me, lyrics are a backbone in a song. They’re what make music so relatable.

Q: If you could perform anywhere, where would you go?

A: Madison Square Garden. I feel like if I were ever to get the chance to sing there, I’d know I’d made it.

Q: What are some tips you would give to someone who wants to start singing?

A: Learn how your voice works. Experiment with every genre and find that works best for you, as well as what you like to sing. It’s also very important to take care of your voice; it’s your instrument. Warm up every time before you sing. And if you’re planning to sing in front of people, perform this rule:

“Make the audience feel something.”

Q: A lot of times record companies say people don’t have “the look”. What would you say to someone who is discouraged by this?

A: Don’t be. Walk away from them and never give them a second look. Remind yourself of who you are as an artist and that you don’t have to change for anyone. Someday people will appreciate you for who you are.

Q: What quote do you live by?

A: “We are all in the gutter, but some of us are looking at the stars.”

~Oscar Wilde

Miranda proves to be such an inspiration, and I’m honored to have had the chance to interview her. Please go check out her music; I can promise you will absolutely love her! Who knows, maybe a follow up will be in the future 😉

YouTube  |  Facebook  |  Instagram  |  Soundcloud

Leave a Reply

